Monday 18/March 2013

I was having a bustling Monday morning and it started to shower as I walked through the gate into work. The sun was trying to poke its face out through the clouds but the rain was so light it looked like micro shards of confetti falling from the sky.

When I tilted my umbrella to look up at the rain, I unexpectedly saw the most amazing DOUBLE rainbow. I actually gasped (out loud) and quickly took my phone out to take a million snaps. I had never seen a double rainbow before. They both formed two perfect arcs over the bay.

The inner child immediately thought of a leprechaun sitting at the end of the rainbow with a pot of gold. Quite apt, really, seeing as the moment I was looking at this some people would have been raising their glasses to St Paddy at a pub in County Mayo, Ireland.

So wanting to know more, I immediately searched the net about double rainbows; this is what I found:

In a double rainbow, a second arc is seen outside the primary arc, and has the order of its colours reversed, red facing toward the other one, in both rainbows. This second rainbow is caused by light reflecting twice inside water droplets. (Source: Wikipedia)

My positive neurons were working overtime so I just HAD to share this with someone. I called the Engineer I work with to come out and have a look. While I was waiting for him, one of our work neighbours was parking his car so I roped him into our little side show, despite the rain. Both guys were in total awe of seeing not one, but two, brilliantly coloured rainbows. And what’s more – neither of them had ever seen a double rainbow either! The sight was so calming, it turned my bustling Monday into a beaming Monday.

Still on the rainbow high I asked my son, when I got home from work, if he saw the double rainbow. His facial expression and non-verbal excitement told me what I needed to know, he couldn’t contain his delight.

So, that’s at least four people who were, today, touched by one of the many wonders of this planet – all within moments of each other. Now, if that’s not a truly unexpected positive experience the universe threw at our feet, I don’t know what is.

I tried to capture it in a photo but it was so much more vibrant than that. What a truly a remarkable wonder.

So what unexpected wonder(s) did you experience today?

Until tomorrow ~ Live life, love life.

dx

Leave a Reply

