Saturday 23/March 2013

It’s 11.00pm and I can hear live music playing across the road and people singing along to a grooved out version of Simon & Garfunkel’s ‘Mrs Robinson‘. A party to farewell the summer and herald in the fall.

Speaking about heralding in the fall, we went to the Melbourne Flower Show today. People from all ages revelled in some impressive pieces of floral, garden, wrought iron and plant art. The intoxicating smells of the hyacinths, lilies, freesias and lily of the valley sent senses to galaxies far, far away.

Like I do with musicians & artists, I marvelled at people’s ability to create such complex masterpieces with their minds and hands. Their inherent ability to match colours, structure and texture into one or a multitude of creations is sublime.

You couldn’t help but feel uplifted when being around such colour, love and life; the whole place felt like it was in this energy bubble.

From across the road, even before you arrived at the garden gates, you could hear a band playing their 18th century folk tunes on their pan-pipes and acoustic guitars (at the same time). When I walked in, I felt like I was entering in to J.M.Barrie’s, Never Never Land.

Again we have music setting the mood. Right from the moment we walked over that ‘invisible’ threshold, we were at ease and happy to be there, it was truly another world. Whenever anyone would bump into me, or I them, we’d just laugh it off, apologise and move on – just my kind of place, Utopia.

We walked around for about four hours taking in the sights, drinking coffee & admiring the artwork. So, naturally, we were brainwashed into the world of colour so we just had to create some of our own at home. My son and I chose our plants very carefully (read: ones I can’t kill).

The day was easy, laid back and light-hearted, a perfect start to the weekend. As I spend 9-hours a day, five days a week in an office, being out in the fresh air recharges my batteries. Even though I don’t have a green thumb, and as I want to be a part of nature, I am inspired time and time again to try and do my bit for her. Although, I reckon I’m the only person who can kill a cactus within two days of bringing it home. It has become a bit of a laughing matter in our household but I say practice makes perfect, right?

My mum, on the other hand, has the passion for gardening, growing and nurturing. Mum can create a garden masterpiece with a piece of string. Seriously. This ‘gift’ seems to have skipped a generation (with me anyway); however, judging from how in tune my son is with all things flowers, plants and nature, he may have inherited her passion.

So, again, we come back to passion. It seems to be a force within and around us, but what it is? How do you really know what you’re passionate about?

Someone once suggested to me that if you are so immersed in what you’re doing that you don’t notice the time passing by then you have found your passion. This person also suggested that when your mind focuses this intently on something then nothing else can get in. Certainly sounds like a positive force not to be reckoned with.

So if we can focus so intently on doing something we love then surely we also have the power to zap our negative thoughts with our passion/s?

What’s your passion and how do you channel it?

Until tomorrow ~Live life, love life

dx

Leave a comment