Thursday 21/March 2013

Music has a quite a significant place in the world. It binds cultures together. Every country in the world listens to music. It’s a language that unites. You may not like that particular genre but as an open-minded person, you appreciate it for how it makes people feel.

Making music that invokes emotion takes some serious talent. I am not sure about the effort part, as I have never made music, but I guess nothing is really an effort if you love what you do. You breathe and live your passion. I am in constant awe of true artists who write their own music/lyrics then play the music they’ve created then sing the lyrics they have written. Another wonderful example of what the human being is capable of doing. And when I am driving, I love seeing people singing to their favourite music. They have total freedom to express & release their emotions through music.

Music can make you feel happy, positive, relaxed, energised, angry, sad, morose – the list goes on. Music can be a place you can go to escape the realities of life. Unless of course you’ve just broken up with someone and you listen to Chicago’s ‘It’s hard for me to say I’m sorry…’, on repeat, for a week. But then music can also help to heal sadness & pain. As a 16-yr old who had her heart broken, once, twice, three times a lady, Chicago was my friend for one whole week and I swear it must have been true love because I was so hurt, I can’t even remember the guy’s name.

If you have your dark glasses on, you may instinctively choose to play Iron Maiden’s “Fear of the Dark”. But have you ever tried playing an uplifting song to counter the mood? At the moment, my alarm is set each morning to “Walking on Sunshine” by Katrina & The Waves. Waking up to this song literally makes me wiggle in bed & spurs me on to think that no matter what lies ahead, being alive is like walking on a HUGE wave of sunshine.

Thanks to Andrew for the YouTube link he posted on our blog this morning. If you didn’t catch it, here it is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3zJErBWd78&w=560&h=315%5D.

Andrew’s post got me thinking about music and the place it holds in the world. We play music at weddings, funerals, in the car on the way to work, at work, while we’re doing housework, while we’re trying to get the baby off to sleep (singing lullabies), singing in the shower, they play it in movies, they make movies about music. Music is all around us. So thanks for the energy this morning, Andrew. Your track got me thinking & feeling about one of the biggest passions in my life.

So could music help you to re-ignite a long lost passion or serve as a reminder of the unseen energy around you? Next time you hear a song – any song – take note of the mood it puts you in. Sad? Happy? Angry? Irritated? It will teach you about yourself and how sensitive your energy is to the energy of music.

Until tomorrow ~ Live life, love life.

dx

Leave a Reply

