Impulse …

On Monday (2/May) my husband brought home my all-time favourite chocolate bar (honey nougat log). For the past four days, it has been sitting, unopened, on top of the fish tank.

Literally since the minute I got it my son has asked me twice a day,

‘Mum, when are you going to eat that?’

‘Are you going to open it now?’

‘Can I have a bite?’

My response is always,

‘Not today.’

Sigh.

He asked me again tonight,

‘Mum! Are you going to open it today?’

‘Not today, maybe tomorrow.’

Big sigh.

I am practising the art of delayed gratification. I figure if he can start learning to master it now, then one day he might learn the art of not giving into impulse.

Don’t get me wrong, I like doing impulsive things like jumping in the car to get cake at 3am after a marathon session of watching The Walking Dead.
But I think the bigger decisions in life need thoughtful consideration.

My son is quite an impulsive little guy and while I don’t want to box his thinking, I do want to try and guide him towards making more thoughtful decisions.

So I thought a good (small) thing to start with was to exemplify my delayed gratification (and patience) with my holding off on eating my ‘special’ chocolate bar. And when I give him his ‘bite’ that he has (somewhat patiently) been waiting all week for, it will be all the more worth it. And that is the prize at the end of it.

Until tomorrow ~ Live Life, Love Life
dx

8/May: Quick update:

The chocolate bar is still on top of the fish tank.

My son has given up asking for it but my husband told me tonight he’s going to eat it.

The gloves are on….

6 responses to “Impulse …

  1. Just a quick update on this one.

    This chocolate bar is still sitting on top of the fish tank – 8 days later.

    My son has given up asking me about it but tonight my husband told me he is going to eat it.

    The gloves are on….

Leave a Reply

