Appreciation

Ok, so I am human. I have my good days and bad, we all do.

I really need to work on the art of appreciation. I won’t go into detail but I think my expectation levels are set too high. I expect so much from myself that I also set the same bar for everyone else around me. It’s not a fair call, is it?

I have decided to step back from myself and re-centre my levels. Because really, no one has to do anything for me, do they? They do it out of the goodness of their heart. And what do I do? Trample it with criticism that it isn’t done right.

But I’m not going to beat myself up over it. I am going to let this feeling go so I can focus on working on a positive outcome. I am still learning and I am now conscious that this behaviour is unacceptable.

A good start to a Tuesday because I have learnt a (hard) lesson.

Until tomorrow ~ Live Life, Love Life
dx

6 responses to “Appreciation

  1. That’s how I feel about about comparing myself or anything to anything else. And about unnecessary competing. It just makes you feel bogged down and unhappy. I hope this change is what you are looking for. Best of luck!!

    • I think most humans are competitive by nature. However, when that act of ‘competition’ demoralises another person, in whatever form, then it’s not a positive outcome. So yes, I agree with you, all parties involved become unhappy with the experience.

      What strategies are you employing to work through your competitiveness? Interested to hear new ways …

      Danni x

      • I consciously mentally cut myself short by saying to myself, “I do not contend, compare, compete. I am enough.” Sometimes it takes saying it a couple of times to get it to sink in. But it works. And it also short circuits any judgement i have going through my brain. It is hard to judge when you consciously aren’t competing. 🙂

      • Yes this is a good method. I have been pretty good the past few days but doesn’t take long for the old demon to slip back in …

Leave a Reply

