Welcome to the world

20130518-000642.jpg A new mum and her four cubs
Source: DanniGNT (2012) ~ story below…

After 10 days of travelling around Kenya & Tanzania with my sisters, my dad and step-mum, we were driving back to our lodge to collect our bags because we were heading home that afternoon. It was a very sad day for us all. Tears were flowing let me tell you.

Everyone in the van was quiet and all we could hear were the crunching tyres on the loose gravel.

Then (how, I don’t know) our guide hears a rustling in the bushes, so we slow down. A lioness pops her head up to inspect what’s going on so we slow to a halt. And we wait.

Then we hear little squawking noises coming from behind her. We peer out and we see four cubs – only 5 days old – tumbling down a small molehill towards the brave new mum.

Our guide frantically radios in this find and we quietly (like a herd of elephants) scramble to see these precious new little creatures.

What a blessing that Mother Nature bestowed on us, to be given the chance to see this miracle in our last hour on this magnificent continent. How can anyone explain the magnitude of such an experience?

I cannot explain to you how I still feel about this experience – one year later. It has resonated so deeply within me that I positively changed that day, my whole world tilted off its axis.

So each time I am in need of a pick me up, I watch the movie I made of the whole proceeding. The photo above is just a snapshot of this 10-minute journey into a new world for this mum and her cubs.

She was taking them to meet the rest of the pride (see the photo of the larger cubs caption ‘Waiting for mum’ – same pride up the road).

So I saved the best for last because even as I write this, I get this wonderfully warm feeling rush over me and I wanted to share that with you.

Live for your good experiences and remember them well – they get you through the hard times.

Until tomorrow ~ Live Life, Love Life
dx

5 responses to “Welcome to the world

Leave a Reply

