Mission complete

20130519-203459.jpg
The one and only
Source: Google.com

I successfully completed my mission of doing something I’ve never done before.

Well, actually, I used to do this all the time but at some point, I retreated into my shell and have only recently felt brave enough to pop my head out for a looksee.

As I’ve grown older, my desire to meet new people seriously waned. But I don’t want to prompt you to ask me if I want some cheese with that wine, so I’ll spare the details on how this came about.

Anyway, I figured I have enough friends so why do I need to make any more?

Well, I have been thinking about this theory and it is somewhat flawed. When I meet new people it doesn’t mean we have to become BFFs. It’s really about making human connections.

So I set out to meet at least one new person over the weekend, someone whom I had never spoken with before. Lo & behold, I met three new people! All from varying age groups, the oldest being 88. I have to admit, talking to him was my favourite conversation.

I forgot what making connections was really about. It’s about hearing other people’s stories and rejoicing in their lives. It’s about embracing difference and humanity. It’s about remembering that we’re all in this together.

So I am pleased to say I successfully completed my mission. I feel so satisfied that I have decided to re-open myself to new connections, and to see them for what they are.

Did you do anything this weekend that you have never done before? Or changed something that you’ve been doing for ages?

Until tomorrow ~ Live Life, Love Life
dx

11 responses to “Mission complete

  1. I took a break from my blog yesterday. I can’t remember the last time I did that. 🙂

    We can never have enough friends. Just like anything else, we have to plant a lot of seeds when only a few will come up.

Leave a Reply

